Logan Temple and others set to further reopen next week

LOGAN — The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints plans to further reopen the Logan Temple and a nine others throughout the state. The announcement came Monday that the temples would transition to Phase 2, allowing living ordinances to be performed. The change will begin Aug. 17.

In addition to the Logan Temple, which has been in Phase 1 since May, the others locations that have been given permission to perform further ordinances includes:

  • Bountiful Utah Temple
  • Brigham City Utah Temple
  • Cedar City Utah Temple
  • Mount Timpanogos Utah Temple
  • Ogden Utah Temple
  • Payson Utah Temple
  • Provo City Center Temple
  • Provo Utah Temple
  • Vernal Utah Temple

Seven other temples throughout the world will also transition, bringing the total number currently in Phase 2 to 29.

As part of the four phase plan, Phase 1 only allows living sealings to be performed. Phase 2 lets the all living ordinances be completed. Phase 3 allows all ordinances with limited restrictions. And, Phase 4 is a return to regular temple operations.

The four phases of reopening are designed to reduce risk, accommodate the demand and capacity of the temple, and observe any relevant health restrictions in the temple district, a press release stated.

Anyone who has symptoms of COVID-19 or is sick is discouraged from going to the temple, at this time.

The Church says temples will be thoroughly cleaned and sanitized following each ceremony.

In March, the Church announced the suspension of all worship services and weekly activities. Temples were closed several weeks later.


Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.