Murray State’s James named OVC women’s player of the year

BRENTWOOD, Tenn. (AP) — Murray State’s Ke’Shunan James is the Ohio Valley Conference women’s basketball player of the year while Belmont’s Bart Brooks is coach of the year.

Brooks has led the <a target=”&mdash;blank” href=”″>22nd-ranked</a> Bruins to 19 straight wins.

Southeast Missouri’s Tesia Thompson is OVC freshman of the year. Southeast Missouri’s Adrianna Murphy is defensive player of the year.

Award winners were selected by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.

First-team all-OVC picks include James, Belmont’s Darby Maggard, Sally McCabe and Kylee Smith, Tennessee State’s Tia Wooten, UT Martin’s Kendall Spray, SIU Edwardsville’s Donshel Beck, Eastern Kentucky’s A’Queen Hayes, Morehead State’s Miranda Crockett and Eriel McKee and Austin Peay’s Brianne Alexander.

The second team includes Thompson, SIU Edwardsville’s Lauren White, Belmont’s Jenny Roy, Murray State’s Bria Bethea and UT Martin’s Ashton Feldhaus.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.