Utah State Athletics announces 2018 Hall of Fame class

LOGAN – The Utah State University Athletic Department announced its 2018 Hall of Fame Class during halftime of Wednesday night’s basketball game.

Charlie Denson, Greg Kragen, Kevin Nixon, Kendal Smith, Tony Brown and Erin Cartwright-Davis will each be inducted Friday, Sept. 14, 2018 during a ceremony at the Riverwoods Conference Center in Logan.

Two of the inductees are Cache Valley natives. Brown, who played basketball from 1999 to 2002, is from Hyrum. Cartwright-Davis played volleyball from 2001-03 and is from Wellsville.

Denson played football for Utah State from 1976-77 and has since been a major contributor to the athletic program. Kragen, who played defensive line from 1980-83, and Smith, who played wide receiver from 1985-88, are the other two former football players.

Nixon played basketball from 1985-88 and was part of the first USU basketball team to receive an automatic berth to NCAA tournament.

According to USU Athletics Media Relations, 109 individuals and three teams have been previously inducted into the Hall of Fame. It will be the 16th class.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Posted in USU

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.