Trump signs disaster declaration for 11 Idaho counties, including Franklin

BOISE, Idaho (AP) — President Donald Trump has signed a disaster declaration for 11 counties in southern Idaho.

The declaration signed Friday means federal funds will be available to help communities rebuild damaged infrastructure following winter storms and flooding from Feb. 5 to March 3.

Officials say Bingham, Cassia, Elmore, Franklin, Gooding, Jefferson, Jerome, Lincoln, Minidoka, Twin Falls and Washington counties sustained damage that exceeded $30 million.

Gov. C.L. “Butch” Otter says he’s grateful the president acted quickly to support parts of Idaho struggling through some of the worst weather-related damage in recent memory.

Otter also says the state has appealed the denial of a disaster declaration sought for Ada, Canyon, Custer, Payette and Washington counties due to record snowfall that damaged roofs, roadways and other infrastructure.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.