Annual Robins Awards presented by USUSA Saturday night

Old Main

LOGAN – The Utah State University Student Association (USUSA) announced the 2017 winners of the Robins Awards Saturday evening. According to a university press release, the awards are considered to be the most coveted honors at USU, and are awarded during an annual ceremony every spring.

The awards are named after Bill Robins, who served as USU’s student body president in 1949. Robins and his wife Geraldine were killed in a plane crash in 1954, leaving behind a 1-year-old son, who died seven years later from leukemia.

In all, more than 100 nominations were received and 20 awards were presented, with the feature award going to Ty Aller, USUSA’s graduate studies senator. The complete list of winners is below:

Faculty University Service Award – Rebecca G. Lawver

Faculty Researcher of the Year – Silvana Martini

Master Student Researcher of the Year – Jacqueline Keating

Doctoral Researcher of the Year – Salif Mahamane

Graduate Student Teacher of the Year – Sherena Huntsman

Peak Prize: Undergraduate Researcher of the Year – Margaret Hallerud

Undergraduate Faculty Mentor of the Year – Christy Glass

Professional Advisor of the Year – Tressa M. Haderlie

Eldon J. Gardner Teacher of the Year – Matt Omasta

Scholar of the Year – Darcie Christensen

Legacy of Utah State Award – Erik Gray

Female Athlete of the Year -Jessica Brooksby

Male Athlete of the Year – Dillon Maggard

Gerald R. Sherratt Award – Jessica Bishop

Talent of the Year – Michael Francis

Organization of the Year – Best Buddies

Val R. Christensen Service Award – Becca Huppi

Woman of the Year – Ashley Waddoups

Man of the Year – Garrett White

Bill E. Robins Memorial Award – Ty B. Aller

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.