Utah GOP lawmakers pick new leaders for next 2 years

Photo courtesy Utah State Law Library.

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) – Republican lawmakers have selected Rep. Greg Hughes of Draper to lead them as the speaker of the state House for the next two years.

The majority party elected Hughes as speaker on Thursday night.

They also chose Taylorsville Rep. Jim Dunnigan as House majority leader, Mapleton Rep. Francis Gibson as majority whip and Kaysville Rep. Brad Wilson as assistant whip.

Senate Republicans on Thursday voted to keep their same leadership team in place.

Sen. Wayne Niederhauser of Sandy will continue to serve as Senate president and Sen. Ralph Okerlund of Monroe will stay on as majority leader.

Republicans in the Senate also chose Sen. Stuart Adams of Layton as majority whip and Sen. Peter Knudson of Brigham City as assistant majority whip.

Democrats, the minority party, will pick their leaders later this month.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!