2014 Mountain West football preseason All-Conference team

LAS VEGAS – The 2014 Preseason All-Mountain West Football Team was announced today at the league’s annual Media Days, being held at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas. The team, as selected by members of the media, features 15 student-athletes who were All-MW selections in 2013, including six first-team honorees. The 25-member squad is comprised of 17 seniors, seven juniors and one sophomore.

Utah State senior quarterback Chuckie Keeton was named Preseason MW Offensive Player of the Year, while Fresno State senior safety Derron Smith was selected MW Defensive Player of the Year. New Mexico junior return specialist Carlos Wiggins garnered Preseason MW Special Teams Player of the Year honors.

Keeton, a senior from Houston, Texas played in just six games last season before suffering a season-ending knee injury in the first quarter against BYU on Oct. 4, 2013. Prior to his injury, Keeton had completed 136-of-196 passes for 1,388 yards (231.3 ypg) with 18 touchdowns and just two interceptions, while rushing for another 241 yards on 55 carries (4.4 yards per carry) and two more scores. Overall, that completion percentage of 69.4 percent broke his own single-season school record set in 2012, while his 18 touchdown passes rank tied for ninth all-time in school history.

Smith, a 2012 and 2013 All-MW first-team honoree, leads all returning players in the Football Bowl Subdivision with 14 career interceptions. The 2013 MW Preseason Defensive Player of the Year led the Conference and was second in the nation with seven interceptions. Smith tied for second on the team with 87 tackles. He also recorded four sacks and eight tackles for loss. He was named the Defensive MVP of the inaugural MW Championship Game, thanks to his six tackle, one sack, one interception and one pass breakup performance as Fresno State topped Utah State 24-17.

The 2013 FBS leader in kick return yardage, Wiggins finished last season with a MW-best 29.6 yards per return. His three kickoff returns for touchdowns tied the league’s single-season record. Wiggins, the 2013 MW Special Teams Player of the Year, returned two kickoffs 100 yards, equaling the MW mark set by Hawai‘i’s Mike Edwards in 2012. In limited time at running back, Wiggins gained 237 yards on just 13 carries and scored twice. He was the only player in the nation to have a 100-yard rushing game, a rushing touchdown, a touchdown reception and multiple kickoff returns for touchdowns.

<strong>2014 Mountain West Football Preseason All-Conference Team</strong>


QB Chuckie Keeton Sr. Utah State

WR Matt Miller Sr. Boise State

WR Devante Davis** Sr. UNLV

RB Jay Ajayi* Jr. Boise State

RB Donnel Pumphrey So. San Diego State

OL Ty Sambrailo** Sr. Colorado State

OL Cody Wichmann Sr. Fresno State

OL LaMar Bratton Sr. New Mexico

OL Brett Boyko** Sr. UNLV

OL Robert Waterman Sr. UNLV

TE Kivon Cartwright Sr. Colorado State


DL Tyeler Davison** Sr. Fresno State

DL Brock Hekking* Sr. Nevada

DL B.J. Larsen** Sr. Utah State

DL Eddie Yarbrough* Jr. Wyoming

LB Ejiro Ederaine** Jr. Fresno State

LB Kyler Fackrell** Jr. Utah State

LB Zach Vigil** Sr. Utah State

DB Donte Deayon** Jr. Boise State

DB Jeremy Ioane** Sr. Boise State

DB Derron Smith* Sr. Fresno State

DB J.J. Whittaker Sr. San Diego State


P Garrett Swanson Jr. Fresno State

PK Jared Roberts* Sr. Colorado State

Ret. Carlos Wiggins* Jr. New Mexico

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: Chuckie Keeton, Sr., QB, Utah State

Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Derron Smith, Sr., DB, Fresno State

Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year: Carlos Wiggins, Jr., KR, New Mexico

* – member of the 2013 All-Mountain West first team.

** – member of the 2013 All-Mountain West second team.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Posted in USU