USU’s Victoria Saucedo named Mountain West Softball Freshman of the Year

LOGAN, Utah – Utah State freshman third baseman Victoria Saucedo was named Mountain West Freshman of Year as well as earning first-team honors Tuesday, as voted on by the league’s nine coaches.

Saucedo, a native of West Covina, Calif., is the first-ever Aggie to earn Freshman of the Year honors in softball. DeAnna Earsley was named Big West Pitcher of the Year in 1993, while Sandy Taylor earned Big West Field Player of the Year in 2000. Utah State has also had a player make the first team for three-straight seasons after Christine Thomsen was named first-team all-Western Athletic Conference in 2012 and 2013. This is the fifth-straight season that an Aggie has earned postseason honors. Last season, junior outfielder Hailey Froton was also a second-team all-WAC honoree.

“We’re really excited for Vic being named MW Freshman of the Year and first-team all-Conference. She performed well all year and is certainly deserving of this honor. It’s a big honor for both Vic and the program, and we look forward to bigger and better things from her the rest of her career,” USU head coach Steve Johnson said.

In the Aggies’ first season in the Mountain West, Saucedo hit a blistering .408 in conference games to lead the team and was fifth in the MW. She ended league games with 31 hits and 13 runs scored to lead the Aggies. She had eight multiple-hit games in Mountain West play, including a four-hit performance in a win against New Mexico on April 25.

Overall, she hit .371 with 31 RBI which is tied for 10th in the Aggies’ single-season record books. Her 65 hits in 2014 were also fifth all-time and the second-most ever by a USU freshman after Tammy Alcantar’s 79 in 1996.

UNLV sophomore shortstop Garie Blando was named MW Player of the Year, while San Diego State sophomore pitcher Danielle O’Toole earned Pitcher of the Year honors. Fresno State junior outfielder Brenna Moss garnered Defensive Player of the Year accolades, while Aztec head coach Kathy Van Wyk captured MW Coach of the Year honors.

USU ends the season 18-37 overall and 6-18 in its first season in the Mountain West.

Fans can keep up with all of the Aggie softball action at Follow Utah State athletics, including softball, at, as well as on facebook, at

2014 Mountain West All-Conference First Team

Name Team Pos. Yr.

Tara Glover** Boise State OF Sr.

Rebecca Patton Boise State P Sr.

Chelsea O’Connor Colorado State OF Sr.

Jill Compton* Fresno State RHP So.

Brenna Moss* Fresno State OF Jr.

Brandi Heimburg New Mexico OF Jr.

Willow Kalinen New Mexico OF Fr.

Jaylene Ignacio San Diego State OF Fr.

Patrice Jackson** San Diego State OF Sr.

Danielle O’Toole San Diego State LHP So.

Erin Rodriguez San José State INF/DP So.

Garie Blando UNLV SS So.

Sam Juarez UNLV OF Jr.

Stefany Valentino** UNLV OF Sr.

Victoria Saucedo Utah State 3B Fr.

2014 Mountain West All-Conference Second Team

Name Team Pos. Yr.

Jordan Kreiger Boise State 2B Jr.

Haley Hutton Colorado State 2B Fr.

Holly Reinke Colorado State RHP So.

Stesha Brazil Fresno State 1B Sr.

Hannah Harris Fresno State RHP So.

Kierra Willis Fresno State OF Fr.

Karlyn Jones Nevada RHP Sr.

Megan Sweet Nevada SS So.

Naomi Tellez New Mexico C/DP So.

Dominique Dinner San Diego State OF/C Sr.

Katie Mathis San Diego State 2B Sr.

Jessica Garcia San José State INF Sr.

Jessie Hufstetler San José State INF/DP So.

Emily Haslinger* UNLV C So.

Pauline Monreal UNLV OF Sr.

Player of the Year: Garie Blando, So., SS, UNLV

Pitcher of the Year: Danielle O’Toole, So., LHP, San Diego State

Defensive Player of the Year: Brenna Moss, Jr., CF, Fresno State

Freshman of the Year: Victoria Saucedo, Fr., 3B, Utah State

Coach of the Year: Kathy Van Wyk, San Diego State

**= three-time honoree

*= two-time honoree


Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Posted in USU