USU’s Grayson DuBose and Liz McArthur honored by Collegiate Volleyball Update

LOGAN, Utah – Utah State head volleyball coach Grayson DuBose and junior outside hitter Liz McArthur were both recently honored by Collegiate Volleyball Update as DuBose was named a finalist for National Coach of the Year, while McArthur was named to the Stellar Spiker honorable mention team. DuBose, who is entering his sixth year at Utah State, was one of five finalists for the Collegiate Volleyball Update National Coach of the Year award along with Ed Allen (Tulsa), Joe Getzin (Mississippi), Carolyn Zimmerman (Cal State Fullerton) and Kirsten Bernthal Booth (Creighton) who won this year’s honor. DuBose led Utah State to a 24-8 record in 2010 and its fourth NCAA Tournament appearance in school history after winning its first-ever Western Athletic Conference Tournament Championship by defeating perennial power Hawai’i in the conference tournament championship match. Those 24 wins for USU were the seventh-most in school history and the most since 1982. McArthur, a junior outside hitter from St. George, Utah (Snow Canyon HS), was one of 103 student-athletes honored by Collegiate Volleyball Update and one of 75 players named to the Stellar Spiker honorable mention team. She finished the season ranking first in the league in service aces per set (0.33), third in kills per set (4.00) and third in points per set (4.59). Nationally, she finished the season ranking 32nd in points and 34th in kills. Along with being named to the Collegiate Volleyball Update Stellar Spiker honorable mention team, McArthur also received honorable mention All-America honors from the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA). McArthur, who also earned first-team AVCA all-region honors, joined former Aggie greats Amanda Nielson (2004-07), Zuzana Cernianska (2002-05) and Erin Cartwright-Davis (2001-03) as the only AVCA All-Americans in Utah State history as all four players earned honorable mention honors. Overall, McArthur is one 11 All-Americans in school history along with Annette Cottle (1976, 1977, 1978, 1979), Lucia Chudy (1978, 1979), Sandy Lynn (1978), Elaine Roque (1979), Jo Ellen Vrazel (1980), Lauren Goebel (1980, 1981), Karolyn Kirby (1980, 1981), Erin Cartwright-Davis (2003), Zuzana Cernianska (2005) and Amanda Nielson (2007). McArthur was also named the Most Valuable Player of the WAC Tournament in 2010, a first-team all-WAC honoree, and received Academic All-District VIII third-team honors from the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) as a junior. -USU-

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!