Utah House passes ban on smoking with kids in car

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) — The Utah House has narrowly passed a bill making it a crime to smoke in a vehicle with passengers under 16 years old. Democratic Rep. Patrice Arent of Salt Lake City, the bill’s sponsor, says House Bill 89 protects children from secondhand smoke. The bill passed the House Monday 39-35. It now moves to the Senate. Arent says children in a vehicle with a smoking adult are harmed worse than the adult because of their developing lungs and more rapid breathing. The bill would make it an infraction and levy a fine of $45. The fine would be waived if the person enrolled in a smoking cessation class. Republican Rep. Wayne Harper of West Jordan says the bill is excessive regulation of adult behavior.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!