USU’s Pebley wins WAC Coach of the Year, Ashlee Brown Newcomer of the Year

DENVER – The 2010-11 all-Western Athletic Conference teams have been named, following a vote of the WAC’s head coaches. Louisiana Tech’s Adrienne Johnson headlines the awards, earning the WAC Player of the Year honor. Johnson, a 6-0 senior forward from Franklin, La., becomes the eighth Louisiana Tech player in 10 seasons to earn the award. In WAC play, she led the league in scoring (22.3) and minutes played (38.4), ranked second in field goal percentage (48.3), third in rebounding (10.0), fourth in free throw percentage (85.0), seventh in blocks (0.8) and 10th in steals (1.9). Johnson has scored in double figures in 28 of 29 games this season, including 18 games of 20 or more points, and has recorded 14 double-doubles on the year, including eight in WAC games. She was named WAC Player of the Week five times this season. Nevada’s Shavon Moore earned the WAC Defensive Player of the Year honor, becoming the third Wolf Pack player to receive the honor in the four years of the award’s existence. A 6-1 forward from Riverside, Calif. (J.W. North HS), Moore averaged 8.7 rebounds, 2.0 steals and 0.9 blocks per game in WAC play. She was also named first team all-WAC and to the all-Defensive team. Utah State’s Ashlee Brown is the WAC Newcomer of the Year, becoming the first Aggie ever to earn any of the WAC’s major awards. A 6-0 junior forward from Chandler, Ariz. (UC Santa Barbara/Chandler HS), Brown averaged 16.9 points, 8.7 rebounds, 2.9 assists and 1.8 steals per game in WAC play. In conference games, she led the WAC in field goal percentage (53.4), ranked third in scoring, fifth in rebounding and eighth in assists. She has reached double-digit scoring in 21 of the 26 games she played this season, including 12 of 13 WAC games. Utah State head coach Raegan Pebley earns WAC Coach of the Year honors for the first time in her career. She has led the Aggies to a 10-6 record in WAC play and 16-13 overall mark. The 10 WAC wins are the most for Utah State in a season since joining the conference, while the 16 wins thus far this season is tied for most wins in a season since the reinstatement of the program in 2003-04. Four different schools are represented on the first team, including Johnson, Moore and Brown. Fresno State’s Jaleesa Ross and Nevada’s Tahnee Robinson round out the first team. Johnson and Ross receive first-team all-WAC honors for the third time, Robinson earns the honor for the second time, and Moore and Brown earn the honor for the first time. The all-WAC second teamers are Jasmine Bendolph and Tarkeisha Wysinger-Mackey of Louisiana Tech, Rosie Moult of Fresno State, Yinka Olorunnife of Idaho and Madison Spence of New Mexico State. Olorunnife and Spence are repeat selections, while the other three are making their first appearance on the team. Moore headlines the all-Defensive team and is joined by Idaho’s Olorunnife, Louisiana Tech’s Johnson and Wysinger-Mackey and Alice Coddington of Utah State. The all-Freshman team contains five players from four different teams, including Hawai’i’s Kamilah Jackson and Shawna-Lei Kuehu, Boise State’s Diana Lee, Fresno State’s Taylor Thompson and New Mexico State’s Jasmine Rutledge. The 2011 WAC Tournament will be held March 9-12, at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas. The women’s tournament schedule includes two first round games on March 9, two quarterfinal games on March 10, semifinals on March 11 and the championship game on March 12. Saturday’s title game will be televised live on ESPNU at 1 p.m. Pacific Time. The complete WAC all-conference teams and additional honors follow. First Team All-WAC Ashlee Brown Utah State F 6-0 Jr. Chandler Ariz. (UC Santa Barbara) Adrienne Johnson Louisiana Tech F 6-0 Sr. Franklin, La. (Franklin) Shavon Moore Nevada F 6-1 Sr. Riverside, Calif. (J.W. North) Tahnee Robinson Nevada G 5-9 Sr. Fort Washakie, Wyo. (Sheridan College) Jaleesa Ross Fresno State G 5-8 Sr. Pinole, Calif. (Pinole Valley) Second Team All-WAC Jasmine Bendolph Louisiana Tech G 5-7 Jr. Mobile, Ala. (Davidson) Rosie Moult Fresno State G/F 6-0 So. Olinda, Victoria, Australia (Vermont Secondary) Yinka Olorunnife Idaho P 6-0 Sr. Windsor, Ontario, Canada (National Elite Development) Madison Spence New Mexico State G 5-11 Sr. Las Cruces, N.M. (Mayfield) Tarkeisha Wysinger-Mackey Louisiana Tech G 5-7 Sr. Many, La. (Many) All-Defensive Team Alice Coddington Utah State G 5-10 Sr. Canberra, Australia (Radford College) Adrienne Johnson Louisiana Tech F 6-0 Sr. Franklin, La. (Franklin) Shavon Moore Nevada F 6-1 Sr. Riverside, Calif. (J.W. North) Yinka Olorunnife Idaho P 6-0 Sr. Windsor, Ontario, Canada (National Elite Development) Tarkeisha Wysinger-Mackey Louisiana Tech G 5-7 Sr. Many, La. (Many) All-Freshman Team Kamilah Jackson Hawai’i F 6-0 Oakland, Calif. (Sacred Heart Cathedral) Shawna-Lei Kuehu Hawai’i G 5-10 ‘Aiea, O’ahu (Punahou School) Diana Lee Boise State G 5-7 North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Hansworth) Jasmine Rutledge New Mexico State G 6-0 Manhattan Beach, Calif. (Mira Costa) Taylor Thompson Fresno State G 5-5 Cache, Okla. (Cache) Player of the Year: Adrienne Johnson, Louisiana Tech Defensive Player of the Year: Shavon Moore, Nevada Newcomer of the Year: Ashlee Brown, Utah State Coach of the Year: Raegan Pebley, Utah State

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!