USU’s Wagner, others receive WAC Players of the Week awards

DENVER – Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore, Utah State linebacker Bobby Wagner and Louisiana Tech return specialist Phillip Livas were named the Verizon Western Athletic Conference offensive, defensive and special teams players of the week, respectively. Moore, a junior from Prosser, Wash. (Prosser HS), was 30-of-37 for a career-high 507 yards and three touchdowns in Boise State’s 42-7 win over Hawai‘i. The 507 yards are the second most by any player in the nation this year. After his first pass of the game was dropped, Moore completed 19 straight en route to a 21-0 lead early in the second quarter. He threw touchdown passes of 12, 43 and 83 yards to become the school’s all-time leader in touchdown passes and increased his career total to 85. His passing efficiency rating of 192.38 currently leads the nation. Wagner, a junior from Ontario, Calif. (Colony HS), tied a career-high with 17 tackles in Utah State’s 27-22 win over New Mexico State. He also had an assisted tackle for loss on a third-down play. His 17 tackles tied for the second most in the WAC this season and gives him three of the top eight performances in the league this year. Livas, a senior from Houma, La. (South Terrebonne HS), returned seven kickoffs for 225 yards and a punt for another 29 yards in the game against Fresno State. In the fourth quarter and Fresno State leading, 33-21, he returned a kickoff 95 yards for a touchdown, his sixth career touchdown on a return. The 225 kickoff return yards were the most in the WAC and fourth most by any player in the nation this season. Others nominated on offense: sophomore running back Robbie Rouse, Fresno State; senior quarterback Colin Kaepernick, Nevada; sophomore running back Kenny Turner, New Mexico State; and senior running back Derrvin Speight, Utah State. Also nominated on defense: junior defensive end Shea McClellin, Boise State; senior linebacker Ben Jacobs, Fresno State; junior linebacker Jay Dudley, Louisiana Tech; junior linebacker James-Michael Johnson, Nevada; and senior safety Alphonso Powell, New Mexico State. Other special teams nominations included: junior fullback Austin Raphael, Fresno State; sophomore punter Alex Dunnachie, Hawai‘i; sophomore defensive back Thaddeus Brown, Nevada; sophomore place kicker Tyler Stampler; and sophomore kick returner Kerwynn Williams, Utah State. -WAC-

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!