California schools split in Pac-12 divisions

SAN FRANCISCO (AP) — The California schools will be divided when the Pac-12 conference splits into football divisions next year following its recent expansion. Commissioner Larry Scott said at a news conference in San Francisco on Thursday that UCLA, Southern California, Arizona, Arizona State and conference newcomers Utah and Colorado will make up one division. Stanford, California, Oregon, Oregon State, Washington and Washington State will be in the other. The conference needed to split into divisions in order to stage a lucrative football title game. There will be no division split in other sports. Cal and USC have played every year since 1929, while Cal has played UCLA each season since 1933. Stanford has played both Los Angeles schools each year since 1946.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!